BWF Council Positions Confirmed for Next Term

BWF Council Positions Confirmed for Next Term
Reelected BWF President Poul-Erik Høyer.

At the 82nd BWF Annual General Meeting (AGM) held virtually today, the positions of BWF President, Deputy President and Vice President-Para Badminton, plus 20 BWF Council Members were confirmed for 2021 to 2025.

Poul-Erik Høyer, KhunyingPatama Leeswadtrakul and Paul Kurzo were re-elected unopposed in their respective roles, signalling continuity at the top of the BWF leadership.

The Council outcomes align with the BWF Constitution to guarantee global board representation and a minimum representation of 30 per cent of each gender on Council.

BWF President Høyer said he was excited to lead the BWF for another term and congratulated all successful candidates.


“I would like to express my sincere appreciation for the confidence you have put in me to be your President for another term. I will do whatever I can to live up to your trust and to work hard to develop badminton to an even higher level,” Høyer said.

“I would also like to thank all candidates who participated in the election and offered their time, experience and commitment to developing BWF and badminton. The participation in the election of all candidates is extremely important and we are grateful for your contribution.

“With this election we welcome a range of new Council members for the next term and I look forward to working with all of you for the development and progress of our sport.

“At the same time, we say goodbye to a number of Council members who served last term and I would like to acknowledge the huge contributions you have made.”

In other matters, the vote on the proposal to amend the Laws of Badminton relating to the Scoring System from 3×21 to 5×11 narrowly failed to gain the two-thirds majority required.

A number of other proposals from the Membership, including one from Badminton Denmark (seconded by Badminton Association of Faroe Islands and Norwegian Badminton Association) to amend Law 16 of the Laws of Badminton; and another from Badminton Peru (seconded by Badminton Association El Salvador and Badminton Association of Guatemala) to introduce French and Spanish as official languages of the BWF we also not approved.

The Membership did, however, vote successfully to confirm the inaugural members of the BWF Vetting Panel as well as the BWF Independent Hearing Panel.

Further details of the 82nd BWF AGM will be published here: