Nominees for BWF Player of the Year Awards 2023

Nominees for BWF Player of the Year Awards 2023

The season’s most outstanding athletes will be honoured at the prestigious BWF Player of the Year Awards in Hangzhou, China on 11 December 2023.

The awards ceremony will be held during the annual HSBC BWF World Tour Finals Gala Dinner.

There are eight award categories, including three for Para badminton.

The nominees were ratified by the BWF Council and selected based on performances during the 2022/2023 season from 1 November 2022 to 31 October 2023.

An outright winner of the Eddy Choong Most Promising Player will be announced on the evening.

2023 Nominees

BWF Male Player of the Year Nominees

Viktor Axelsen

The Dane had another great year, winning six titles in the assessment period, including three Super 1000 crowns, and the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals 2022, staying unchallenged as No.1.

Seo Seung Jae

The Korean made history by becoming the first male player in 24 years to become a double titlist at the BWF World Championships. The left-hander enjoyed success in both men’s doubles and mixed doubles through the year.

Kunlavut Vitidsarn

Vitidsarn became the first Thai to win the BWF World Championships men’s singles crown. With his steady improvement through the year culminating in the world title, Vitidsarn showed that at 22, he’s leading the way for the next generation.

BWF Female Player of the Year Nominees

An Se Young

Has had a season others can only dream of. Won 11 titles in the assessment period; making the finals in all but one of her 14 events played, winning 10 of those including the BWF World Championships and the Asian Games.

Chen Yu Fei

The Chinese was steadiness personified, winning three titles from five finals and leading her country to the TotalEnergies BWF Sudirman Cup Finals 2023 crown.

Akane Yamaguchi

The reigning BWF Female Player of the Year won three titles from four straight finals in the early part of the assessment period and kept her consistency up throughout the season, claiming two further titles.

BWF Pair of the Year Nominees

Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan

The Chinese duo won eight titles in the assessment period, and they made six straight finals, winning five, including the BWF World Championships and the Asian Games.

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty

Rankireddy/Shetty became the first Indian pair to become world No.1 on the back of titles at the Badminton Asia Championships, KAPAL API GROUP Indonesia Open 2023, Korea Open 2023 and the Asian Games.

Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong

The Chinese greats scored three Super 1000 titles on top of their Asian Games gold, while finishing runners-up at the BWF World Championships.

Seo Seung Jae/Chae Yu Jung

The Korean mixed doubles pair became the first from their country in two decades to win the BWF World Championships and followed up that momentous achievement with a Super 1000 win at the VICTOR China Open 2023.

BWF Most Improved Nominees

Jiang Zhen Bang/Wei Ya Xin

The Chinese mixed doubles pair was competing at International Challenge events back in 2022. Since then, they have made a rapid and successful transition to the elite level, winning four titles including the Badminton Asia Championships in 2023.

Chen Tang Jie/Toh Ee Wei

The Malaysians broke into the top 10 in their first full season as a pair with steady performances throughout, featuring title wins at the Orleans Masters Badminton 2023 presented by VICTOR and the YONEX Taipei Open 2023.

Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen

The Danes have been among the top men’s doubles pairs for a while, but they stepped up a level at the BWF World Championships on home soil, surging into the final. They continued in that vein, winning three of their next four events and achieving a career-high ranking of No.3.

BWF Male Para Badminton Player of the Year Nominees

Daiki Kajiwara

The Japanese dominated the men’s singles WH2 once again with an unbeaten run, winning eight gold to go with three gold and three silver in the men’s doubles.

Cheah Liek Hou

With five singles and six doubles titles, the Malaysian was the pre-eminent player in the SU5 class.

Lucas Mazur

The Frenchman had a total of 11 medals, including a triple crown at the European Para Games.

Kim Jungjun

The WH2 great from Korea continued to be a force with 20 medals overall including two singles gold.

BWF Female Para Badminton Player of the Year Nominees

Leani Ratri Oktila

The Indonesian had another strong year in all three of her categories with 16 gold medals overall.

Rina Marlina

The Indonesian dominated the SH6, winning all but two out of her eight women’s singles events in the assessment period.

Sarina Satomi

With six singles gold from six events, the Paralympic champion from Japan proved to be once again the most dominant player in women’s singles WH1 event.

Pilar Jauregui

The Peruvian was successful across the board, winning a total of 24 medals including five singles, two doubles and five mixed doubles gold medals.

Thulasimathi Murugesan

Women’s singles winner at the Asian Para Games, the Indian picked up a total of nine gold medals, including four in singles.

Man-kei To

The WH1 player from Belgium was in seven singles finals, winning four.

BWF Para Badminton Pair of the Year Nominees

Hikmat Ramdani/Leani Ratri Oktila

The Indonesian SL3-SU5 mixed doubles pair were nearly unstoppable, winning eight out of nine tournaments.

Subhan Subhan/Rina Marlina

The SH6 mixed doubles duo from Indonesia won all seven of their events, including the Asian Para Games.

Muhammad Fareez Anuar/Cheah Liek Hou

The SU5 men’s doubles pair from Malaysia had a haul of six gold medals through the assessment period.

Sarina Satomi/Yuma Yamazaki

The WH1-WH2 world and Paralympic champions from Japan had another strong season, with four gold medals.

Leani Ratri Oktila/Khalimatus Sadiyah

The Indonesian SL3-SU5 women’s doubles pair from Indonesia were in eight finals, winning five gold including the Asian Para Games.