BWF Announces Service Award Recipients

BWF Announces Service Award Recipients

Four long-time servants of badminton will receive the Badminton World Federation’s prestigious Distinguished Service Award for 2017.

Miguel Diaz, Nahathai Somprachum (featured image), Guenter Kluetzke and Thomas Ritchie Campbell – nominated respectively by the Badminton Pan Am Confederation, the Technical Official Commission, the Para-Badminton Commission and Badminton Europe – will be honoured at BWF’s Annual General Meeting in Bangkok in May.

The Distinguished Service Award recognises at least 15 years of exemplary service to badminton at the international level. The award was instituted in 1985 and past winners include players such as Lene Koppen, Erland Kops (Denmark) and Christian Hadinata (Indonesia) as well as coaches like Li Yongbo (China) and administrators like Dr. Puzant Kassabian (Bulgaria).

Ten individuals have been chosen for the BWF Meritorious Service Award: Elizeu Paulo Machado (Brazil); Brian Bach Moesgaard, Soren Espersen and Peter Ganes (Denmark); Ville Lang (Finland); Paul-Andre Tramier and Jean-Marc Pocholle (France); Wilfried Jorres (Germany); Joseph Clarke (Jamaica) and Victor Shvachko (Ukraine). These recipients will be presented with their awards at various BWF tournaments in 2018.

KYK Shopping SA, nominated by the Brazilian Badminton Federation, will receive the Certificate of Commendation at the Brazil Open in March 2018.