81 and Counting!

81 and Counting!

Today is the 81st anniversary of the founding of badminton’s international federation which took place on 5 July 1934.

First known as the International Badminton Federation (IBF), the organisation began with nine inaugural members – Canada, Denmark, England, France, Ireland, Netherlands, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales – and has blossomed to 182 member associations today.

In June 2005, the IBF headquarters moved from England to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and a year later the IBF was re-christened the Badminton World Federation (BWF).

Sir George Thomas of England (featured image; left) was the first IBF President serving 21 years; the longest term of anyone in that capacity. Since May 2013, Poul-Erik Høyer of Denmark has led the BWF, with Peru’s Gustavo Salazar Delgado as Deputy President. Thomas Lund is the BWF Secretary General.

Happy 81st birthday to the international badminton family!

BWF LEADERSHIP: BWF President Poul-Erik Høyer is flanked by BWF Deputy President Gustavo Salazar Delgado (right) and BWF Secretary General Thomas Lund.