BWF: IOC Membership A “Great Honour” for Berhane

BWF: IOC Membership A “Great Honour” for Berhane

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) is pleased to congratulate Dagmawit Girmay Berhane on her election as an International Olympic Committee (IOC) member at the recent 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Applauding Berhane’s success, BWF President Poul-Erik Høyer said it is “a great honour and, as a member of our badminton family, we are all very proud that you have been elected”.

“Becoming an IOC member is a significant acknowledgement of your work in your country Ethiopia, in Africa and in international sports administration. It is also acknowledgement of your important ongoing role as a member of two IOC Commissions – the IOC Women and Sport Commission and the Coordination Commission of the 2nd Youth Olympic Games – Nanjing 2014,” he noted.

Currently the continental vice-president for Africa on the BWF Council, Berhane was among nine persons welcomed into the IOC Session – the supreme decision-making body of the IOC – which now comprises 111 members; individuals, active athletes or representatives of International Federations (IFs) and National Olympic Committees (NOCs). Berhane, who previously served as an IOC member during her tenure as Secretary General of the National Olympic Committee (NOC) of Ethiopia, was elected as an individual member on this occasion.

The 38-year-old – one of six women now on the BWF Council – has served in various sports-administration capacities and continues to do so as President of the Ethiopian Badminton Federation; Executive Member of the Badminton Confederation of Africa; and Executive Board Member of the Association of National Olympic Committees (ANOC). She has previously been First Vice-President, President and then Secretary General of Ethiopia’s NOC and an Executive Board Member of the Association of National Olympic Committees of Africa (ANOCA).


CAPTION: Dagmawit Girmay Berhane of Ethiopia (third right) stands next to outgoing International Olympic Committee President, Jacques Rogge (sixth right), after the election of new IOC members last Tuesday in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Other new IOC members pictured are (left to right): Octavian Morariu (Romania), Bernard Rajzman (Brazil), Mikaela Maria Antonia Cojuangco-Jaworski (the Philippines), Alexander Zhukov (Russia), Lawrence Probst III (USA), Paul Kibii Tergat (Kenya), Camiel Eurlings (the Netherlands) and Stefan Holm (Sweden).