Olympic and World Junior Stars Lead Nominations for Player Awards

Olympic and World Junior Stars Lead Nominations for Player Awards

Some of badminton’s best will battle it out for Player of the Year honours for last season!

Among those nominated for the Male Player of the Year for 2012 are two-time Olympic gold medallist, Lin Dan of China (left: BWF home page), and his perennial rival Malaysia’s Lee Chong Wei; the current world No. 1 and two-time Olympic silver medallist. Others in that category are Olympic bronze medallist and winner of the BWF World Superseries Finals, Chen Long (China); Men’s Doubles Olympic gold medallists, Cai Yun/Fu Haifeng (China) and Lee Yong Dae and the now retired Chung Jae Sung (Korea), who won the Men’s Doubles bronze medal at London 2012.

In the reckoning for Female Player of the Year is world No. 1 Li Xuerui of China (right: BWF home page) who copped eight titles in 2012, including the Olympic and year-end crowns. Li’s compatriot, Wang Yihan, the Olympic silver medallist, has also been nominated as have India’s Saina Nehwal (Olympic bronze) and the winning Olympic Women’s Doubles pair Tian Qing/Zhao Yunlei (China).

Should a pair win either of these categories, they will share the annual award.

Meanwhile, the nominees for the Most Promising Player of the Year are: Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei); Viktor Axelsen (Denmark); Kento Momota (left: Junior World champion – Men; Japan); Nozomi Okuhara (right: Junior World champion – Women; Japan); Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand) and Busanan Ongbumrungpan (Thailand).

The key criteria for nomination are:

• Exceptional and consistent performance across a calendar year

• Performance at the Olympics, BWF events and Superseries events

• A good role model for the sport which goes beyond on-court performance

• Ranked among the top five in the world in the year of nomination

The 2012 choices for these awards will be made at the sole discretion of the BWF Council. The announcement of the winners and the presentation of prizes will take place at a gala dinner in Kuala Lumpur on Saturday 18 May, this year, following the BWF annual general meeting.

The BWF is pleased to recognise and congratulate recipients of various other awards for 2012.

They are as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Heather Robson (NZL)

Hall of Fame: Ha Tae Kwon (KOR); Gong Zhi Chao (CHN)

Distinguished Service Award: Joao Matos (POR)

Meritorious Service Award: Luis Manoel da Fonseca Barreto (BRA); John C Briggs (ENG); Abby Kumar (ENG); Mrs Linda Alvarez (GIB); Chau Man Tuan (HKG); Hsu Show Hoo (HKB); Iriansyah Busra (INA); Anton Gonadi (INA); Koesdarto Pramono (INA); Chua Soo Hock (MAS) and Barabash Mykola (UKR).

Women in Badminton: Hiromi Murai (JPN)

Certificate of Commendation: Siam Cement Group (SCG)

For more information on the BWF Awards, please click here.