Shin and Kim Bid Adieu

Shin and Kim Bid Adieu

Two of Korea’s stalwarts eased out of international badminton, leaving a vacuum that their country will find hard to fill. Shin Baek Cheol and Kim Sa Rang (featured image), whose exploits in doubles (with different partners) helped maintain their nation’s standing at various international events over the last half-decade and more, joined their illustrious compatriot Lee Yong Dae into retirement. Here’s a snapshot of their achievements:


Shin Baek Cheol (Men’s Doubles & Mixed Doubles)

  • World Champion (Men’s Doubles), 2014
  • Superseries Winner: BCA Indonesia Open 2015; Yonex Denmark Open 2012
  • Asian Games 2010 gold medal (Mixed Doubles)
  • Asian Games 2014 Men’s Team gold medal
  • Winner: Badminton Asia Championships (Men’s Doubles), 2014
  • Runner-up, Badminton Asia Championships (Mixed Doubles), 2014
  • Superseries Runner-up, Swiss Open 2010 (Mixed Doubles); Maybank Malaysia Open 2012 (Men’s Doubles)

Shin Baek Cheol (right) and partner Ko Sung Hyun surprised their fancied compatriots Lee Yong Dae and Yoo Yeon Seong in the Men’s Doubles final of the Li-Ning BWF World Championships 2014.


Shin Baek Cheol and Ko Sung Hyun after winning the BCA Indonesia Open 2015.


Another memorable moment for Shin Baek Cheol was his Mixed Doubles title with Lee Hyo Jung at the Asian Games in 2010.


Kim Sa Rang (Men’s Doubles)

  • Asian Games 2014 Men’s Team gold medal
  • Superseries Winner: Celcom Axiata Malaysia Open 2016; Thaihot China Open 2015; Yonex Open Japan 2012
  • Winner, Badminton Asia Championships 2012
  • Runner-up, Badminton Asia Championships 2013
  • Superseries Runner-up: Victor Korea Open 2015; Yonex-Sunrise Hong Kong Open 2013; World Superseries Finals 2013

Kim Sa Rang in full attacking flow during the victorious Thaihot China Open 2015 campaign.


Kim Sa Rang (right) and Kim Gi Jung won the Celcom Axiata Malaysia Open earlier this year.


The two Kims nearly made the Men’s Doubles semi-finals of the Rio Olympics, but failed to convert three match points against eventual gold medallists Zhang Nan and Fu Haifeng of China.