Lee, Intanon Clock Fastest Hits

Lee, Intanon Clock Fastest Hits

Jan Jorgensen_smash-vLee Chong Wei has recorded the fastest smash in Men’s Singles for all MetLife BWF World Superseries events since September last year.

The Malaysian World No.2 (featured image) topped the list with a 408kph missile at the Yonex-Sunrise Hong Kong Open 2015, which he won. The smash speeds were recorded by Hawk-Eye Innovations, which provides instant-review services at MetLife BWF World Superseries and Major Events for BWF.

The data shows that, while the men routinely smash over 390kph, the women aren’t too far behind.

Thailand’s Ratchanok Intanon delivered the hardest blow in Women’s Singles, clocking 372kph in the semi-finals of the Celcom Axiata Malaysia Open this year, the second in her hat-trick of World Superseries titles which included the Yonex-Sunrise India Open and the OUE Singapore Open.

Denmark’s Jan O Jorgensen nearly equalled Lee Chong Wei’s pile-driver with a 407kph hit in the semi-finals of the Celcom Axiata Malaysia Open this year.

Another big-hitter was Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen, who smacked a 404kph shuttle in the Yonex Open Japan last year. Close behind was India’s Parupalli Kashyap (401kph), also in the same tournament.

Five-time World champion Lin Dan recorded a 401kph smash in the Yonex Open Japan 2015, which he won.

Ratchanok Intanon_smash2

Others who went over 390kph were Japan’s Kento Momota, Denmark’s Hans-Kristian Vittinghus, India’s Ajay Jayaram, China’s Tian Houwei, Korea’s Son Wan Ho, Japan’s Sho Sasaki and China’s Chen Long.

In Women’s Singles, Intanon’s 372kph rocket was ahead of Chinese Taipei’s Tai Tzu Ying (360kph) and China’s Wang Yihan (359kph).

Men’s Singles

Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) 408kph (Hong Kong Open 2015)

Jan O Jorgensen (Denmark) 407kph (Malaysia Open 2016)

Viktor Axelsen (Denmark) 404kph (Yonex Open Japan 2015)

Parupalli Kashyap (India) 401kph (Yonex Open Japan 2015)

Lin Dan (China) 401kph (Yonex Open Japan 2015)

Kento Momota (Japan) 399kph (Yonex Open Japan 2015)

Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) 397kph (Hong Kong Open 2015)

Ajay Jayaram (India) 397kph (Korea Open 2015)

Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Denmark) 398kph (All England 2016)

Tian Houwei (China) 395kph (All England 2015 semi-final)

Son Wan Ho (Korea) 394kph (Singapore Open 2016 final)

Chen Long (China) 392kph (Dubai World Superseries Finals 2015)

Kento Momota (Japan) 390kph (India Open quarter-finals)

Sho Sasaki (Japan) 390kph (All England 2nd round)

Women’s Singles

Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand) 372kph (Malaysia Open semi-finals)

Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei) 360kph (All England quarter-finals)

Wang Yihan (China) 359kph (Malaysia Open semi-finals)

Saina Nehwal (India) 357kph (All England 2nd round)

Carolina Marin (Spain) 356kph (All England semi-finals)

Akane Yamaguchi (Japan) 352kph (Yonex Open Japan 2015)

PV Sindhu (India) 349kph (Denmark Open 2015)

Nozomi Okuhara (Japan) 347kph (Yonex Open Japan 2015)

Busanan Ongbumrungpan (Thailand) 343kph (All England 2nd round)