Ginting Outplays Momota – Day 3: Yonex-Sunrise Hong Kong Open 2015

Ginting Outplays Momota – Day 3: Yonex-Sunrise Hong Kong Open 2015

Young Indonesian Anthony Ginting’s impressive run at the World Superseries level continued as he beat Japan’s Kento Momota in the Yonex-Sunrise Hong Kong Open today.

3day_Ng Ka LongGinting – who was beaten by Momota in the BCA Indonesia Open quarter-finals – decimated the Japanese’s challenge today in just 34 minutes, 21-7 21-15. Ginting will take on another Japanese, qualifier Kazumasa Sakai, in the quarter-finals.

Korea’s Son Wan Ho met an early end in his title defence, at the hands of Tian Houwei.

He was joined on the sidelines by Yonex Open Japan champion Lin Dan, who was undone by local hope Ng Ka Long in straight games.

Son has had a disappointing year since he won his last World Superseries title in Hong Kong. His best performance was a semi-final place at last week’s Thaihot China Open; any hopes he might have entertained about a strong finish to the year was buried by China’s Tian Houwei in 47 minutes, 21-13 21-17.

The man Son beat in last year’s final, Chen Long (China), progressed after initial trouble against Thailand’s Boonsak Ponsana, 19-21 21-8 21-13. Another strong challenger for the title, Chinese Taipei’s Chou Tien Chen, also booked his place in the quarter-finals beating Japan qualifier Kenta Nishimoto.

Lin Dan looked lost in the opening game, going 0-9 down in a jiffy. He recovered in the second and had the game under control, but his inconsistent play allowed Ng to creep up back level; the Hong Kong challenger converted on his first match point: 21-8 21-18.

Marin Outplays Yamaguchi

World champion Carolina Marin might have anticipated trouble against Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi, 3day_Porntipbut the Spaniard powered past her 21-19 21-8; the second game being a total rout in which Yamaguchi appeared lost for a strategy to counter her fast and powerful opponent.

Yamaguchi’s compatriot Nozomi Okuhara, whose stirring run into the top-ten started here last year, booked her quarter-final place with even greater ease. Okuhara ran through the challenge of Chinese Taipei qualifier Chen Hsiao Huan 21-6 21-6 in just 21 minutes.

Korea Open champion Sung Ji Hyun also made the quarter-finals without trouble, her next opponent being China’s Wang Yihan, whom she had beaten for the Superseries title in Seoul. Defending champion Tai Tzu Ying (Chinese Taipei) also made the quarter-finals without much trouble, overcoming Kaori Imabeppu (Japan) in straight games.

Thailand’s Porntip Buranaprasertsuk and Ratchanok Intanon too made the last-eight.

Matsutomo/Takahashi Through

In Women’s Doubles, top seeds Misaki Matsutomo/Ayaka Takahashi survived a difficult encounter against China’s Tang Jinhua/Zhong Qianxin. After losing a close first game, the Japanese sustained the attack and gradually gained the ascendancy to emerge victorious at 21-23 21-10 21-12.

In the bottom half of the draw, China Open champions Yu Yang/Tang Yuanting won an all-China battle against No.2 seeds Luo Ying/Luo Yu, 22-20 21-16.

Mixed Doubles No.5 seeds Ko Sung Hyun/Kim Ha Na set up a quarter-final against World Championships runners-up Liu Cheng/Bao Yixin (China). The Koreans took time to subdue Indonesia’s Ronald Alexander/Melati Daeva Oktaviani, 17-21 21-18 21-12, and will face third seeds Liu Cheng (featured image)/Bao Yixin, who were dominant over Denmark’s Niclas Nohr/Sara Thygesen, 21-15 21-14.

Indonesia’s Praveen Jordan/Debby Susanto overcame a tricky challenge from local pair Lee Chun Hei/Chau Hoi Wah 21-18 21-18 and take on top seeds Zhang Nan/Zhao Yunlei in the quarter-finals. In the bottom half of the draw, Japan’s Kenta Kazuno/Ayane Kurihara booked a meeting against Korea’s Shin Baek Choel/Chae Yoo Jung.

Ko/Shin Upset

The big surprise in Men’s Doubles was the upset of Korea’s Ko Sung Hyun/Shin Baek Choel at the hands of Malaysia’s Goh V Shem/Tan Wee Kiong, 22-20 21-18.

Top seeded Korean pair Lee Yong Dae/Yoo Yeon Seong, however, had little trouble quelling the challenge of Denmark’s Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen 21-9 21-13.